Welcome to the Great Irish Famine Commemoration Website

The National Famine Commemoration Committee was first established in 2008 following a Government decision to commemorate the Great Irish Famine with an annual national famine memorial day. The Committee is chaired by Heather Humphreys T.D., Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and is made up of representatives from the Department of Education and Skills, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of Defence, representatives from the Defence Forces, Department of An Taoiseach, Irish Aid, representatives from Trócaire and Gorta, historians, the National Museum of Ireland and other interested parties.

The annual national commemoration revolves between the four provinces of Ireland. An international event also takes place annually to commemorate the Great Irish Famine.

Details of the work of the National Famine Commemoration Committees since 2008 in implementing a varied and diverse annual programme of events to coincide with the National Famine Commemoration are available on this website.


Latest News

National Famine Commemoration 2017

Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs Monday, April 10th 2017 2017 National Famine Commemoration to take place in Tipperary – Minister Humphreys… Read More

International Famine Commemoration 2016

Minister Humphreys leads 2016 International Famine Commemoration in Philadelphia The Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, Heather Humphreys TD, lead the 2016… Read More

National Famine Commemoration 2016

The 2016 National Famine Commemoration took place on Sunday, 11th September at Glasnevin Cemetery in Dublin. The Event was led by President Michael D. Higgins… Read More

Read More

Main Menu